Optional Winter Activities Week

Kate Meakam, a freshman, and blogger for Harvard’s Admissions, blogged about participating in our OWAW activities. Here’s an excerpt: 
__________________________________________
I traveled back to Cambridge a week early in order to participate in Harvard’s brand-new Optional Winter Activities Week (OWAW… or “Oh-Wow!” if you prefer). Before leaving for break, I got a chance to look over the extensive list of activities to do during this glorious week offered to Harvard undergrads, and one immediately jumped out at me – Food Literacy Project’s cooking courses!

The Food Literacy Project is an organization on campus devoted to teaching students about nutrition, food preparation, and making good food choices. Since I LOOOOOVVVEEEEE food and have zero idea how to cook (let’s be real, the microwave is high class for me), I thought the program sounded great!

I started Wednesday, learning how to make split pea and wild mushroom soups, and both Irish soda and corn breads!

Thursday was my favorite day – chocolate day! We made the most delicious chocolate mousse and truffles (so good, soooo much work). Then we took a field trip to Taza Chocolate, where we got to learn all about how chocolate goes from a plant to a yummy candy bar.

“Coffee and Pie” was Friday’s lesson plan, and while I don’t drink coffee [insert shocked and horrified gasp here], my apple pie was incredible, if I do say so myself.

And I finished making this lovely pie just in time to see a comedy show put on by some of the other OWAW students and welcome my roommates home with fresh dessert!

Home Sweet Harvard!

–This photo is credited to my wonderful friend Michael George.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Optional Winter Activities Week

  1. is this program continuing for 2012? 🙂

Leave a Reply

