Chef Spotlight: Matthew Pierce

Each week, FLP will be doing a spotlight on one of the HUHDS chefs. We’ve asked the chefs the same set of questions in hopes that they’ll be able to pass along some of their culinary wisdom. Next time you spot your chef in your dining hall, be sure to say hi!



This week we would like to introduce you to Matthew J. Pierce, the Sous Chef for Culinary Operations.
Matt has been known for such fabulous events like the Cheesemaking Workshop featured in The Crimson’s FlyBy Blog here!



Where did your passion for food come from?

Honestly, my mother, and she knows it! Her cooking was so bad growing up; I promised myself I’d learn to cook so I wouldn’t put my own children through what I had to endure.



What’s your favorite ingredient to cook with?

Cumin is by far the best spice. Try toasting the whole seed in a sauté pan dry before grinding it. Don’t ever use the powder in the supermarket.



When you’re not doing the cooking, what’s your favorite thing to eat?

When am I not doing the cooking? – work, home, holidays, cookouts. When I do sit down for a snack, I love Tribe’s 40 Spice Hummus with Whole Grain Wheat Thins.



What’s the best piece of advice you could give to a young chef?

If you’re not committed, don’t do it. It’s not the glamorous profession you see on TV. There’s a lot of blood, sweat, and tears (literally and figuratively) that go into this.



What’s your favorite item on the HUHDS menu?

Mediterranean Chick Pea Stew



What do you think is the most underrated item on the HUHDS menu?

Feijoada – It’s a great Brazilian stew and is on occasionally for Latin American themed menus.



If there were one thing you could “demystify” about HUHDS, what would it be?

I don’t know of anything that would need to be “demystified.” I think we are very transparent. If anyone has a question, just ask, we’re happy to answer.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

